We have the Science Technician Team of the Year!

For the first time in the history of the award, the Gratnells Science Technician Team of the Year Award is presented to Patricio Vasquez-Aguilar and Sarah Linkman of Liverpool Life Sciences UTC.

Now in its twelfth year, the competition is open to science technicians working in Education across the world. The judging panel, consisting of esteemed industry professionals, look for evidence of individuals who go ‘above and beyond’ in their daily work – Science Technicians who embrace their work, enjoy the challenges and look to offer continuous improvement in the services they deliver.

The entry process was different this year, and entirely digital. Shortlisted applicants were then decided and were contacted by a member of the judging panel to hear more about their day to day work and special projects.

Patricio and Sarah are awarded for their brilliant display of team work and high-level of support given. They actively help students to improve lab skills across all subjects and support BTEC, GSCE and A-Level in a very technical lab environment. Although they work in different areas of the science department, together they share expertise, equipment and sometimes train one another in different techniques. As a team, their combined knowledge and dedication to their students makes them a real asset to their school.

The Science Technician of the Year presentation process will be different this year due to Covid-19, meaning that we won’t be able to present winners with their awards and prizes in person. During the online ASE conference in January, we will be hosting a short STOTY 2020 showcase sharing submitted entry photos and the hard work of many of this year’s applicants.

The team commented “We are extremely grateful to have been chosen for such a distinguished award. We hope to use the prize to expand our primary school outreach programme, and make it safe during this difficult time.”

Gratnells International Marketing Director, Richard Picking said, “Our STOTY Award goes from strength to strength. In a difficult and disrupted year we have been overwhelmed by the quality of entries, and the enthusiasm shown by Science Technicians from all corners of the world. We would like to thank all Technicians for their continued support for practical science, and the interest they can inspire in young learners. Judging by the quality of our entries, we would see you all as winners.”

The Science Technician of the Year Award 2020 has been awarded to Stacey Wheeler of Mounts Bay Academy in Penzance, Cornwall. The runner up position has been awarded to Irene Gomes of Greig City Academy in London. Third place has been awarded to Karen Giles of Aylesbury Grammar School in Buckinghamshire. Receiving special recognition with a Highly Commened award is Grainne McAdam of Caister Academy in Great Yarmouth. The International Science Technician of the Year Award is presented to Olivia Frost of Caloundra State High School in Caloundra, Australia.

Read more: https://www.gratnells.com/blog/post/gratnells-names-science-technician-of-the-year-2020

Recent Posts